Our View: Chamber honorees worthy of recognition
Childersburg’s Chamber of Commerce hosted an evening of fun and fellowship last week, and used the occasion to honor some people who have touched the lives of their neighbors in a number of ways over the year.

The Chamber’s annual Hall of Fame induction allows members to nominate those who have made a difference in the community.

Inductees since the first class in 1989 represent much of the city’s history for the past half-century. Inductees in the first class were Robert M. Cleckler, Sr., John W. Cox, Jimmie Moody, Leona McCallum and A.H. Watwood.

Other honorees through the years include Morton W. Moody, Robert "Bubba" Cleckler, Beasley Martin, Sr., Wallace Shoemaker, Mrs. Willie J. Ham, BJ Meeks, Jane Allen, Bobbie Shannon, Dee Moody, Bill Kallenbach, Beauna Lovingood, Marguriette Fennell, Garland Justice, Joyce Giddens, Mayburn Teague, Robert S. Limbaugh, Billy Wilson, Harold Davis, Carolyn Reynolds, Paula Jones, Michael J. Blake, Booker T. Wilson and George Limbaugh.

This year retired basketball coach Marvin Rochelle joined their ranks. He coached the team for 10 years, from 1973-83. He compiled a 70 percent winning record, quite an achievement, and when he was retired he continued to live in Childersburg. He has served on the Chamber’s board of directors, and currently serves on the city’s Industrial Development Board.

Jimmy Landers was presented the Community Service of the Year award. He has given time and effort to help make improvements at Kymulga Grist Mill. His work has made a difference in the cooking area, the general store and the nature trails, and he was quick to thank others who, like him, have volunteered their time for the project.

The chamber used the occasion to recognize others in the community for outstanding contributions to the community through different avenues of service.

Chunde McKinney was honored for the New Business of the Year, Heavens Gold Cakes and More.

Ellen Thomas received appreciation for the Established Business of the Year, Forget-Me-Not Flowers & Gift Shop.

Resolute Forest Products was named Industry of the Year, and Anthony Tomlin was named the Law Enforcement Officer of the Year.

Area schools weren’t forgotten. Teachers of the Year were named for each one: JoAnn Cobb, Childersburg Middle School, Elementary Teacher of the Year; Jason Jacks, Childersburg Middle School Teacher of the Year; Al Barnett, Childersburg High School Teacher of the Year; Traci Roberson, Childersburg Elementary; Kellie Lansford, Fayetteville Elementary; Tracie Kelly, A. H. Watwood Elementary; Dawn Guy, Fayetteville High School; Brandon Brown, Winterboro High School; Brittanni Brown, Winterboro Middle School; and Keri Camp, Winterboro Elementary.

Whether it’s through volunteer work or giving the extra effort at work, all of their efforts make a difference in the lives of others. It has a cumulative effect that impacts others in the community, and helps create a positive atmosphere that’s contagious.

That’s critical to the quality of life in any community.

We offer our congratulations to everyone recognized, and we commend the Chamber of Commerce staff and board for making the effort to recognize some of the special efforts being made to make the Childersburg area a better place to live.

© 2013